Full Track List

  1. Witchfinder
  2. Appassionata
  3. Red Hair
  4. Overnight Snow
  5. Moonspinner
  6. Windhover
  7. Green Shoes
  8. The Shepherd Wheel
  9. No Going Back
  10. The Great Including
  11. Aftermath
  12. Two Daughters
  13. The Prince of Morimont
  14. Thoughts Turn Homeward*
  15. Andante – JS Bach from BWV 1034 – with guest guitarist Andy Gray
  16. Syrinx – Debussy

* Thoughts Turn Homeward originally appeared on Marco lo Muscio’s Book of Bilbo and Gandalf. New arrangement for flute and guitar


14 melodic pieces written and performed by John Hackett, plus Debussy’s Syrinx for solo flute and JS Bach’s Andante from BWV 1034 featuring guitarist Andy Grey

Sample tracks



The album moves through a cornucopia of aural delights…
more (scroll down to read the full review)

The Waiting Room Online – issue 78

Another album of excellent music … – marvellous stuff!!

Rock Society – The Journal of the Classic Rock Society

deft dazzling flute-plaing AND excellent acoustic guitar accompaniment …

Cross Rhythms

The album demonstrates why John is so highly regarded …

DPRP – Dutch Progressive Rock Page

Moonspinner is a beautiful album that is uplifting, beguiling and utterly charming…

Virtuosity –

It’s perfect for relaxing with a cup of tea on a winter’s evening…
more (Online french magazine)

Un beau moment de musique, tout simplement

Highlands Magazine (french publication)

C’est beau et rafraîchissant.

Background Magazine (Online magazine for symphonic & progressive rock

The fourteen melodius pieces have many characteristics of both the classical and the progressive world…