Back to Uncategorised

The Journey Continues


As well as being the guitarist in the John Hackett Band and co writer, along with John, of the recording ‘Beyond the Stars‘ Nick is also a classical guitarist who performs around the UK. Nick has also performed live on BBC radio 3 and has his music played many times on Classic FM radio. Nick must be one of the few guitarists, apart from John Williams, to have been performed on Classical radio stations and Rock radio!

Nick’s new recording comprises of 14 original compositions for the Classical guitar. On one track ‘The Moon Circle’ Nick is also joined by the wonderful John Hackett who adds some great atmospheric flute to the composition. It’s been three years since Nick’s last solo release ‘Blue Horizon‘ so Nick thought that the title ‘The Journey Continues‘ sets the scene for his continuing solo guitar work. All the music is available from the publisher Productions d’oZ in Canada. Nick has had all his solo guitar works published by this fine publishing house since 2007 and now has over 75 works in print and available worldwide!

The Journey Continues‘ has a wide variety of moods and musical flavours from around the world. Nick’s music is an eclectic mix of music from various musical eras, such as the Baroque and Romantic traditions. His music is also influenced by the sights and sounds of South America and Eastern European traditions. This includes asymetrical time signatures and modal flavours not uncommon in the world of progressive music. Anyone who likes the sound of the guitar will find this recording a treasure of diverse musical cultures.

One of the 14 tracks was improvised during the recording sessions. This is the final track ‘Epitaph for a Dreamer’ and dedicated to the memory of England’s finest Jazz Pianist John Taylor who sadly passed away too soon. Nick says that John Taylor was one of his greatest musical influences. John Taylor’s harmonic and rhythmic inventions had him hooked from the first time he encountered his music. All the parts for ‘Epitaph’ were recorded without thought or preparation and Nick feels captures the sad loss of such an incredible improvising musical genius.

Full Track List:

1. Ballerina
2. Village Dance Number 2
3. Silent Stream
4. Crossing the Rubicon
5. Laelia
6. The Mesmerist Etude
7. The Moon Circle
8. Dance of the Eagle and the Elk
9. Lake Kawaguchi
10. Prelude in E minor – Fantasia Number 7
11. The Labyrinth – Fantasia Number 14
12. Spheres of Celestial Peace
13. Undercurrent
14. Epitaph for a Dreamer – Improvisation (in Memory of John Taylor)

Out of stock